Above Derwent Parish Council serves the communities of Braithwaite, Thornthwaite, Portinscale, Beck Wythop and the Newlands valley. There are 11 seats on the Council. The Chairman is Joy Pemberton-Pigott and the Vice Chairman is Geoff Davies.

The parish is bounded to the east by Derwent Water, the River Derwent and Bassenthwaite Lake, it includes sections of both lakes. To the West and South, the parish is bounded by the summit of Lord’s Seat, the Whinlatter Pass, the summits of Grisedale Pike and Crag Hill, the Newlands Pass, and the summits of Robinson and Catbells. The parish comprises relatively low level land alongside and between both lakes, together with the Newlands Valley, and large areas of the surrounding fells. It includes the settlements Braithwaite, Thornthwaite, Portinscale, Stair and Little Town.

The Cumbria County Councillor is Alan Bowness, and the Allerdale Borough Councillor is Carmel Bell.

The Clerk to the parish council is Rachael Kelly.